## SUMMARY OF DISCUSSIONS ACCESSIBILITY ADVISORY COUNCIL MEETING FRIDAY, DECEMBER 11, 2020 ONLINE FORUM

**Present:** John Graham (Chairperson), Scott Jocelyn, Dianna Scarth, Martin Harder, Josh Watt, Laurel Repski, Kris Cowley, Brad Robertson, John Wyndels and Colleen Watters (MAO)

## Absent: None

The chairperson welcomed everyone to the meeting and participants introduced themselves. The Chair participated on a Get to Know You call with the new Deputy Minister of Families who welcomes the opportunity to participate in future meetings of the AAC. She provided a brief synopsis of the status of AMA standard development.

The Secretary announced that, as of December 3, 2020, the new name for the Disabilities Issues Office is the Manitoba Accessibility Office (MAO). The MAO held a very successful webinar on December 3<sup>rd</sup> where the first winners of the Manitoba Accessibility Awards were announced. Yvonne Peters, (former Chairperson of the AAC and leader in the Disability Rights movement) provided her perspective on the history of disability rights over the past 40 years. The Secretary sent a note to Ontario thanking them for their presentation at the November AAC meeting.

The remainder of the meeting was devoted to a discussion of a road map for the fiveyear review of the Customer Service Standard.

**Decision:** The Accessibility Advisory Council will conduct initial outreach to stakeholder groups to obtain their perspectives on areas to be addressed in the review, ways to engage with participants and a review framework. Based on the feedback received, Council will refine the review process at the January 2021 Council meeting.

**Action:** The secretary will meet with EngageMB about using this platform to seek public feedback through survey on the Customer Service Standard.

**Action:** The secretary will investigate various platforms and virtual tools for stakeholder consultations.

The next two meetings of the Accessibility Advisory Council will take place on January 22, 2021, from 1:00 - 3:00 pm and February 19, 2021, from 1:00 - 3:00 pm.

The meeting adjourned at 2:45 pm.