SUMMARY OF DISCUSSIONS OF THE ACCESSIBILITY ADVISORY COUNCIL WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 8, 2019, 10:30 AM – 12:30 PM SIXTH FLOOR BOARDROOM, 612-401 YORK AVENUE

Present: Jim Baker (Chairperson), Jim Derksen, John Graham, Martin Harder, Scott Jocelyn, Dianna Scarth, Jesse Turner, Yutta Fricke (DIO), John Wyndels (DIO), Emily Walker (DIO), Glen Manning

Absent: Nil

Council welcomed Glen Manning DoPS Chair to the meeting to present the committee's DoPS proposed standard. The DoPS Committee met more than 20 times to develop this standard. Much discussion took place around the relationship of the standard to the current Manitoba Building Code. The DoPS work involved charting new territory, as there is no existing Manitoba standard on the design of public spaces. Much of the guidance was provided by the landscape architects on the committee. Ontario's standard was used as a basis to develop the Manitoba standard, and the committee examined nine different codes listed on the last page of the DoPS Standard plus the City of Winnipeg Accessible Design Standards.

The DoPS Committee reviewed the public feedback from the May 14, 2019 community engagement session which included three areas:

- 1. That DoPS will not deal with buildings, structures or facilities as they are governed by the Manitoba Building Code and according to the Terms of Reference, outside the scope of the committee.
- 2. For the DoPS standard, enforcement will be an issue.
- 3. Operations and maintenance, especially with winter and long-term maintenance.

The standard follows other standards with the addition of hearing assistance systems, vbike lanes and paths. The standard is to be utilized in conjunction with existing standards and codes such as the Manitoba Fire Code and CSA.

The DoPS chair reviewed the standard section by section and noted questions from Council members. He agreed to follow up on these questions and provide a list of the titles of the various DoPS sections as background.

On the topic of other business, the DIO put forward to the Minister the names of two potential new Council members but has not heard back. The DIO agreed to check on the status of this request.

The DIO noted that Jay Rogers remains the director of the AMA. The report of the Transportation SDC was forwarded to him for consideration.

The next Council meeting will take place on October 24, 2019 from 10:30 to 12:30 PM.